Pennsylvania School Bus Stopping Law

With school beginning, here is a reminder on when and how you need to stop for school buses.

Motorists must stop at least 10 feet away from school buses that have their red lights flashing and stop arm extended.

Do not proceed until all children have reached a place of safety.

If convicted of violating Pennsylvania’s school bus stopping law, you could get:
*A $250 fine
*Five points on your driving record
*60-day license suspension

Intersection

You must stop at an intersection, whether it is or is not marked with a stop sign. All traffic must stop.

Two-Lane Roadway
When a school bus stops for passengers on a two-lane roadway, all traffic from both directions must stop.
Four-Lane Roadway
When a school bus stops for passengers on a four-lane roadway, all traffic from both directions must stop.
Two-Lane Roadway
When a school bus stops for passengers on a two-lane roadway with turning lane, all traffic from both directions must stop.
Four-Lane
When a school bus stops for passengers on a four-lane roadway with center turning lane, all traffic from both directions must stop.
Separate Roadways
If physical barriers such as grassy medians, guide rails or concrete median barriers separate oncoming traffic from the bus, motorists in the opposing lanes may proceed with caution without stopping.